Close menu

La collaboration avec Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec

François Pinault entrusted the design of the Bourse de Commerce’s interior and exterior furnistings to the breton designers Ronan and Erwan (born in Quimper in 1971 and 1976, respectively) Bouroullec. In this conversation, the brothers look back at how their respective paths have differed, met, and complement one another, leading to their very first museum projet in Paris.

 

What are your earliest memories of Paris, or your initial impressions of your very first visit here?

Ronan Bouroullec I was seventeen years old at the time. In the Quimper library, there was probably one single book on design, maybe three about architecture. I was deeply attached to Brittany, where I had grown up, but Paris was the city I wanted to discover, where I hoped to study. This was back in another era, pre-Internet, before any kind of security checks were in place in public spaces. Beaubourg, with its library and forum, was the epicenter of creative energies, a place of improvised encounters, spontaneous debates, occasional fights…

I was too shy to take part in this hectic life but I liked to feel the rhythm of the city, its pulse, its vibrations.

Erwan Bouroullec For me, the city revealed itself in successive stages, since I first lived out in the suburbs. In fact, my first sightings of the Bourse de Commerce were from the RER exit at Les Halles for several years! Today, what I like about Paris is its diversity. You can choose to be invisible here, to lead the life you want.

 

How and when did you start working together?

RB Luckily, my very first exhibition, when I was only eighteen, was a success, and I was able to start working as soon as I’d finished my studies. There is a five-year age gap between Erwan and I, which is nothing today, but at the time it seemed bigger. He had just arrived and was studying at the Beaux-Arts in Cergy. One day—I must have been twenty-four years old—he came to give me a hand with a move, and he never left. EB When I came to work with Ronan, I discovered the pleasure of working as part of a team: with my brother on the one hand, and in collaboration with manufacturers. In retrospect, I don’t think I was cut out for the solitude of the artist’s studio.

RB And now we’re like an old couple! Our bulimic curiosity brings us closer together and is illustrated in the variety of our projects: some of our designs are produced in bulk and sold all over the world, while we also design one-of-a-kind, tailor-made projects, calling on very sophisticated craftsmanship.

 

How would you describe your job?

RB I have a hard time defining exactly what a designer does, given that everything that doesn’t grow naturally on this earth is a product of design.

EB Our job is to have ideas, which are then reproduced and enter into people’s lives and become anchored in reality. It is very pleasant to place the individual, and therefore practicality and functionality, at the heart of our design process. I think of life as a forest: from a fallen tree, we build a chair; from a canopy, a shelter from the sun… Objects are part of the landscape; our role is to identify them, to appropriate them, to activate them. It is this tension that motivates the designer: beyond its functionality, how much should an object be a means of expression?

 

And what are the various roles of the members of your design team?

RB There are about ten of us. We use various different research methods: we make models out of clay and wire, we have an extraordinary 3D printer, a 3D assistant, a Japanese collaborator who has a very precise understanding of scale and who translates the sketches I make very precisely… We also collaborate a lot in the outside world: it is important to continue to supply work to fabricators and craftsmen. They need to renew their language in order to survive.

 

Which project generated the most debate among you two?

RB As I was saying, we’re like an old couple! We have a very artisanal way of working, with an obsessive attention to detail. The smallest detail can prompt endless debates.

EB What generates the most discussion among us is the value of the project itself. We need to believe in our clients’ vision; we need the care they devote to fabrication to match our own; we have to share the common goal of elevating our culture, even if the function of the object in question is banal. Once we’ve agreed to take on a commission, we work by iteration and subtraction: we deconstruct, we eliminate the superfluous, we go straight to the point. We spend endless hours redesigning every last detail; and each time we make the slightest alteration to a design, we make a new prototype, so that we can identify what is missing, what can still be eliminated. Whereas the architect advances by addition, the designer advances by subtraction. An object must be made of very few components.

 

In our era of digital design, computer graphics, and the impulse toward instant gratification, what importance do you attach to drawing by hand, to constructing prototypes and models?

RB I am very sensitive to sensations, to perceptions, and I need to experience something physically in order to make a decision: to measure volumes, touch the materials, appreciate the light, feel shapes… When a chair is delivered, I discover it first by touching it, blindly, before I look at it. At the same time, we’re both fascinated by digital tools and new technology, which have changed completely over the past twenty years, with an obvious impact on the pace of production. For me, given that I love to work on all kinds of different projects at the same time, this is a golden opportunity! I love our complex, modern life that combines practices, where you can be passionate about a door handle you find at a flea market or make extraordinary discoveries on Instagram.

 

How do you manage your different timelines—the long span of time that governs the design and manufacturing processes, and the short time, that of the image and of communication?

EB We live in a complex, paradoxical, strange time: on the one hand, the speed of circulation of information, goods, and people has exploded, while on the other hand, project implementation and decision-making is taking longer and longer. Michel Serres pointed out that long ago knowledge was memory; while today, decoding the contemporary world requires us to have an understanding of choice and analysis. And I am not sure that we possess that intelligence! Ronan and I are committed to very simple principles: to the quality of the manufacturing process and the honesty of the objects, that they are transparent and that their DNA is visible, that they can communicate their functionality, their preciousness, their fragility, their durability…

RB Each project progresses at its own speed: some are driven with great urgency, others remain stuck in inertia and doubt. Design is a frustrating discipline because the process is slow: between the initial concept and its arrival in stores, years of work can go by.This long time, which is also linked to the multidisciplinary nature of the professions involved, is self-sustaining, because it encourages moments of doubt and questioning. Even when we work for different manufacturers and clients, who have their own means of communication, punctual in nature, we maintain a parallel conversation, using our own images, to bring a visual coherence to our projects. To me, there is little hierarchy among our various projects: I am happy to have been invited to design the fountains on the Champs-Élysées, and I’m just as proud to have a project on a small square in Poitiers and to be working with the best lacquerers in the world, in Japan.

 

 

What is your relationship with Japan?

RB We are obsessed with Japan! It’s a fascinating, enigmatic country, with a complex history and a codified society, which has been able to preserve breathtakingly intricate crafts for centuries. I’ve been fortunate to visit Japan several times, most recently Kyoto, to work with craftsmen who restore temples according to secular techniques.

 

How do you understand Tadao Ando’s work? Here at the Bourse de Commerce, and elsewhere?

EB Ando is unique is his respect and appreciation for what already exists. Time has an incredible way of embellishing, enriching, and reinforcing, in an intangible way. With infinite delicacy, Ando subjugates the value of time, that is, of our inheritance from the past, whether in an urban or a natural context. I especially appreciate the choices he made in giving new life to the Bourse de Commerce: endowing the geometric purity of the circle with a spiritual, almost acred, or contemplative, charge… I call it the science of building. And this lends itself perfectly to the intended use of the space, as a museum.

RB  In 1999 or 2000, Issey Miyake asked us to design one of his stores in Japan, even though we had never done interior design before. He invited us to his first exhibition in 2001, and as soon as we landed in Tokyo, we were taken to a conference with Tadao Ando! After that, I spent a lot of time in the pavilion he built for Vitra, near Basel, and had the chance to visit some of his buildings. I am very sensitive to the monochromatic nature of his work.

 

You work with fabric, ceramics, metal, rope, glass… What is your favorite material, the one you could call your signature style?

RB I am fascinated by creators who spend their lives on a single millimeter, on a single subject, on a single vocabulary. I don’t think there is a hierarchy of materials or colors. I love the range of possibilities that plastic presents as much as the preciousness of an ancestral practice like Japanese lacquer. At the moment, textiles are once again becoming one of our favorite subjects. For the Bourse de Commerce, we’re working in the north of France with Jacquard machines that have been in use for a century. We’ve discovered a whole world!

 

Compared to industrial design, how do you approach design for public spaces?

RB Design is a discipline motivated by empathy: each subject has a particular flavor and a singular problem. I’ve never had a problem with the idea of industrial reproduction: on the contrary, I’m in favor of this means of sharing our ideas with as many people as possible. We never wanted to limit ourselves to prestigious orders and confidential projects. Accepting projects in the public space is part of this attitude.

 

 

How will you approach the rue de Viarmes, which surrounds the Bourse de Commerce and its square?

RB This perfectly cylindrical space around the Bourse, between the rue du Louvre and the Nelson Mandela garden, is a very unique feature in Paris. Once the rue de Viarmes is closed to car traffic, it will be completely integrated into the pedestrian area. One of the main challenges was to make the cultural role of the building visible from the outside—to imagine a gesture, both discreet and strong, that would give off a signal.

 

This is the first time you are responsible for the design of a museum and its restaurant. What challenge do you remember most?

RB This project is indeed unprecedented, for us. The most challenging part was figuring out how to treat the entrance, reception, and circulation areas as domestic spaces—that is, how to make them welcoming, warm, on a human scale. The visitor must find softness, a source of appeasement.

 

How was working with Michel Bras?

RB Michel was a little worried when we first met him. He is a very shy man who is in total control of what he does… like ourselves, actually! We soon got along quite well. Although our professions are quite different—I would never go into the details of his seasonings, and he’ll never set foot in our kitchen—they both prioritize research, ambition, application, care, and then the sophistication of the details.

 

How would you define hospitality? How does one live in a museum?

RB What I immediately liked about the architectural project of the Bourse de Commerce is how it emphasizes natural light and its openness to the outside world— since I am quite claustrophobic!

EB Hospitality is inconspicuous courtesy. It means expressing to visitors—in an imperceptible, yet paradoxically obvious manner—that they are welcome, that they are invited to sit down, to read, to slow down, to reflect, to be moved, to contemplate: we must create the conditions for them to enjoy a moment all their own.

 

What was the work of contemporary art that first marked you?

RB What really influenced me was the discovery, in a bookstore in Quimper, of a book of photographs of Donald Judd’s museum and foundation in Marfa. It seems almost conventional today, but at the time it was less so, especially for Quimper! It was a book in German that I was never able to read—so a real fantasy—that has always remained my book of reference to this day.

EB With Ronan, we were lucky to have, as children, a drawing teacher who took advantage of every opportunity to show us art, at the former Quimper Art Center or at the Kerguehennec estate. I remember mainly the paintings of Jean Hélion but also the works of Tony Grand, Mario Merz, Pier Paolo Calzolari, Janis Kounellis… Today, my absolute reference is Donald Judd, and I particularly appreciate the works of Malcolm Morley and Philip Guston.

 

 

Do you collect art? What is your relationship to the collection?

RB I don’t collect. I enjoy looking at certain places, objects, landscapes, but I don’t particularly like to own or to be surrounded by things.

The restaurant

The restaurant
The restaurant

 
   Michel and Sébastien Bras © Bras

 

François Pinault has decided to entrust the Bourse de Commerce’s restaurant, which will be located at the top of the building, to renowned father-and-son team Michel and Sébastien Bras – the next step in the impressive culinary journey, which has taken them from their native Aubras region to Japan, and now to Paris.

Michel Bras’s story begins in the En countryside region of Aubrac. The Bras were cooks for generations—while his father was a blacksmith, his mother, a housewife, was constrained, for pecuniary reasons, to take a position as a full-time cook. As a child, Michel spent his youth in a furnace—of the forge, the oven, the stove. His character was formed during long hours of physical labor, fed by the happiness that comes from gathering loved ones around a dinner table. Even as an innocent child, he was able to perceive the magic of cooking, which he would one day make his own.

Michel grew up on this elevated plateau, this rocky climb, whipped by cold winds, in the Alto Braco region, a territory that straddles three départements—Cantal, Lozère, and Aveyron. The young boy learned to recognize the different wild herbs and flowers that grow there. He developed a strong constitution of flesh, silence, sky, and earth.

We might encounter the boy running through the green fields, pausing to gather queens of the-meadow, sorrel, picolingo stinging his tongue — later, in Vietnam, he would discover its Asian counterpart, rau-raum, coriander with a sharp flavor. He would gather fresh garlic, fresh goosefoots, following his instincts. He didn’t know it at the time, but he would eventually bring all those native herbs and plants into his kitchen and use them to flavor his dishes. The Aubrac region, with its powerful alchemy, determined his fate: he would become a cook.

Bras uses the myriad plants and flowers of the region in his cooking: his poetic gastronomy is inspired by the “natural fortress” in which he grew up, “this desert, in which the sky, minerals, vegetables, everything brings us back to basics.” Twenty-five years ago, with his wife Gi, he took over the premises of Le Délaissé (or the abandoned, the forsaken), so called because no one was interested in farming the land. Together, Bras would set it on a new path and transform its past.

Daringly Bras wanted to convey a contemplative vision of l’Aubrac, to stay as close as possible to nature. The architecture and design of his restaurant reflects this intention: a glass bubble, perched on the edge of a meadow, like a dewdrop. A gurgling stream merrily crosses their property. Bras has brought a new energy to Le Suquet, once abandoned. Visitors come from near and far to eat there. It was there that Bras invented le Gargouillou, a unique dish that has become renowned across the world.

Eventually his son Sébastien joined him, along with his wife Véronique, who together with Gi maintain harmony and tranquility. Father and son share an attachment to the land, the fields, rivers, and forests; they have in common a childhood spent on these lands, a keen awareness of the changing seasons. They traveled together, feeding their imagination both near and far. One day, they were invited to open a restaurant on the island of Hokkaido. Like in Lagardelle, where they grow silver sorrel, mint geranium, valerian, and fennel—plants gathered across the world—they would build a garden, an entire ecosystem, in Japan. The inspiration of these two sons of the Aubrac region knows no frontiers. While one feels a connection with the Fula people of South Africa, the other makes his own miso, using lentils from the Planèze region. Michel and Sébastien are open to all sources of inspiration.

They were invited to open a restaurant in Rodez, alongside the work of painter Pierre Soulages; in the hall of the musée Soulages, you can now find the Café Bras. The architecture of the building perfectly suits both Soulages’s outrenoir works and their style of cuisine: they have in common a refinement and purity of lines. Art is a universal language that adopts many different guises; gastronomy, like painting—or photography, Michel’s preferred hobby—is a metaphor. It gives meaning to the world. And it constantly reinvents and renews itself, incorporates new sources of inspiration. Never concerned with fashion, always true to itself. Such is, I believe, their simple truth!

 

Corinne Pradier, writer

Close menu

La collaboration avec Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec

François Pinault a confié le choix et la conception de l’ameublement intérieur de la Bourse de Commerce et la création du mobilier qui l’entoure aux designers bretons Ronan et Erwan (nés à Quimper, respectivement en 1971 et 1976) Bouroullec. Retour sur deux parcours qui se rejoignent, diffèrent et se complètent autour d’un tout premier projet muséal à Paris.

 

Quels premiers souvenirs ou impressions gardez-vous de votre arrivée à Paris ?

Ronan Bouroullec J’avais dix-sept ans. À la bibliothèque de Quimper, il devait y avoir un seul livre sur le design, peut-être trois sur l’architecture. J’étais attaché  à la Bretagne dans laquelle j’avais grandi, certes, mais Paris était la ville que je voulais découvrir et où je souhaitais étudier. C’était une autre époque, avant Internet, une époque où l’on ne contrôlait pas les sacs. Beaubourg, avec sa bibliothèque et son forum, était l’épicentre des énergies créatives, un lieu de rencontres improvisées, de débats spontanés, de bagarres parfois… J’étais trop timide pour prendre part à cette vie trépidante mais j’aimais sentir le rythme de la ville, son pouls, ses vibrations.

Erwan Bouroullec Pour moi, la ville s’est révélée par étape car j’ai d’abord habité en banlieue. D’ailleurs, mon premier rapport à la Bourse de Commerce, ce fut la sortie du RER pendant plusieurs années ! Aujourd’hui, ce que j’aime à Paris, c’est sa diversité. On peut faire le choix d’y être invisible, en tous cas de mener la vie que l’on veut.

 

Comment et quand avez-vous commencé à travailler ensemble ?

RB  J’ai eu la chance de rencontrer le succès dès ma première exposition, à dix-huit ans, et de commencer à travailler tout de suite après mes études. Avec Erwan, nous avons cinq ans de différence, ce qui n’est rien aujourd’hui, mais à l’époque, c’était beaucoup. Il venait de débarquer et étudiait alors aux beaux-arts de Cergy. Un jour — je devais avoir vingt-quatre ans — il est venu me donner un coup de main, comme ça, comme pour un déménagement, et il n’est plus jamais parti.

EB  Lorsque je suis venu travailler avec Ronan, j’ai découvert ce plaisir de travailler en équipe : d’un côté, avec mon frère et, de l’autre, en dialogue avec des fabricants. Rétrospectivement, je ne crois pas que j’étais fait pour la solitude de l’artiste.

RB  Et puis, on fonctionne comme un vieux couple maintenant ! Notre curiosité boulimique nous rapproche et elle s’illustre dans la variété de nos projets : nous inventons aussi bien des multiples, diffusés partout dans le monde, que nous concevons des projets très singuliers, sur mesure, faisant appel à des savoir-faire artisanaux très sophistiqués.

 

Quel est votre métier ?

RB  J’ai du mal à définir ce qu’est un designer ; disons que tout ce qui n’a pas poussé naturellement sur cette terre est design.

EB Notre métier, c’est d’avoir des idées qui sont ensuite reproduites et entrent dans la vie des gens, s’ancrent dans le réel. C’est très agréable de placer l’individu, et donc la praticité et la fonctionnalité, au cœur de notre réflexion. Je conçois la vie comme une forêt : de l’arbre tombé par terre, on fait une assise ; de la canopée, un abri du soleil… Les objets font partie du paysage, il nous reste à les identifier, à nous les approprier, à les activer. C’est cette tension qui agite le designer : jusqu’où faut-il s’exprimer au-delà de la fonction ?

 

Et quels sont les métiers à l’œuvre dans votre agence ?

RB À l’agence, nous sommes une dizaine. On a des modes de recherche très différents : on bricole beaucoup à base de pâte à modeler et de fil de fer, on a une imprimante 3D extraordinaire, un assistant 3D, un collaborateur japonais qui a une vision très précise des échelles et qui traduit très précisément les croquis que je fais… Nous travaillons aussi beaucoup avec l’extérieur : c’est important de continuer à irriguer des fabricants et des artisans. Ils ont besoin de renouveler leur langage pour continuer d’exister.

 

Quel projet a généré le plus de débat entre vous ?

RB Comme je disais, nous sommes un vieux couple ! On a une manière de travailler très artisanale avec un souci maladif du détail. Un rien suscite le débat.

EB Ce qui génère le plus de discussions entre nous, c’est l’intérêt du projet lui-même. Nous avons besoin de croire en la vision du commanditaire, de nous retrouver dans le soin qu’il souhaite appliquer à la fabrication, d’avoir l’objectif commun d’élever le niveau de culture, même si la fonction d’objet peut être banale. Une fois la commande acceptée, nous travaillons par itération et soustraction : on déconstruit, on se débarrasse du superflu, on va à l’essentiel. On passe ainsi notre vie à tout redessiner et, à la moindre nuance, on refait une maquette pour identifier ce qui pèche, ce qui peut être encore éliminé. Là où l’architecte progresse en ajoutant, le designer avance en retirant. Un objet doit être fait de peu de chose.

 

À l’époque du design digital, de l’image de synthèse et de l’injonction de l’instantané, quelle importance accordez-vous au dessin à la main, aux prototypes, aux maquettes ?

RB  Je suis très sensible aux sensations, aux perceptions, et j’ai besoin d’éprouver physiquement pour me décider : mesurer les volumes, caresser les matières, apprécier la lumière, palper les formes… Lorsqu’une chaise est livrée, je commence par la toucher pour la découvrir, à l’aveugle, avant de la regarder. Pour autant, nous partageons une fascination extraordinaire pour les outils numériques et la technologie. On a vécu une révolution en moins de vingt ans avec un impact évident sur le rythme de production. Pour moi, qui adore mener de front toutes sortes de projets différents, c’est une chance ! J’aime cette vie moderne complexe qui conjugue les pratiques, où l’on peut se passionner pour une poignée de porte trouvée dans une brocante et faire des découvertes extraordinaires sur Instagram.

 

Comment gérez-vous le temps long, qui régit le processus de création et de fabrication, et le temps court, celui de l’image, de la communication ?

EB Nous vivons une époque complexe, paradoxale, étrange : d’un côté, la circulation de l’information, des biens et des individus a explosé et, de l’autre, la mise en œuvre des projets et la prise de décision est de plus en plus longue. Michel Serres soulignait qu’auparavant, le savoir c’était la mémoire, tandis que le monde contemporain exige de nous une intelligence du choix et de l’analyse pour être décodé ; or, je ne suis pas sûr que nous en soyons dotés ! Ronan et moi avons des principes très simples. Nous sommes attachés à la qualité du processus de fabrication et à l’honnêteté des objets, qu’ils soient transparents et que leur ADN soit visible, qu’ils puissent exprimer leur fonctionnalité, leur préciosité, leur fragilité, leur durabilité…

RB Chaque projet avance à sa vitesse : certains sont conduits avec fulgurance, d’autres restent bloqués dans l’inertie et la remise en question. Le design est une discipline frustrante car le processus est lent : entre l’idée et la présence dans le magasin, ce sont des années de travail. Ce temps long, qui est aussi lié à la pluridisciplinarité des métiers sollicités, s’entretient lui-même car il favorise les moments de doute, de remise en question. Même si nous travaillons pour différents fabricants et commanditaires, qui ont leur propre communication, ponctuelle par nature, nous maintenons une communication parallèle, avec nos propres images pour apporter une cohérence visuelle à nos projets. Pour moi, il y a assez peu de hiérarchie dans les projets : je suis à la fois heureux d’avoir été invité à dessiner les Fontaines des Champs-Élysées et, en même temps, je suis fier d’avoir un projet sur une petite place de Poitiers et de travailler avec les meilleurs laqueurs du monde au Japon.

 

Quel rapport avez-vous avec le Japon ?

RB Le Japon, c’est une passion ! C’est un pays à la fois fascinant et énigmatique, à l’histoire complexe, à la société codée, qui a pu préserver des savoir-faire époustouflants. J’ai eu la chance d’y être invité à plusieurs reprises, récemment à Kyoto pour travailler avec des artisans qui restaurent des temples selon des techniques séculaires.

 

Comment comprenez-vous l’œuvre de Tadao Ando ? Ici, à la Bourse de Commerce, et ailleurs ?

EB Sa singularité, c’est le respect et la valorisation de ce qui préexiste. Or, le temps est une dimension incroyable qui embellit, enrichit, renforce de manière impalpable. Avec une délicatesse infinie, Ando subjugue la valeur du temps, c’est-à-dire le patrimoine, qu’il soit urbain ou naturel. J’apprécie tout particulièrement le choix qu’il a fait pour revivifier la Bourse de Commerce : doter la pureté géométrique du cercle d’une charge spirituelle, quasi sacrée, en tout cas contemplative… j’appelle cela la science du bâtiment. Et cela se prête parfaitement à la destination muséale du lieu.

RB En 1999 ou 2000, Issey Miyake nous a contacté pour un de ses magasins au Japon même si nous n’avions jamais fait d’architecture d’intérieur. Il nous a invité pour sa première exposition en 2001 et, à peine atterri à Tokyo, on nous a conduit à une conférence de Tadao Ando ! Par la suite, j’ai passé beaucoup de temps dans le pavillon qu’il a construit pour Vitra à côté de Bâle et j’ai eu la chance de visiter certains de ses bâtiments. Je suis, notamment, très sensible à la monochromie de son travail.

 

Vous travaillez le tissu, la céramique, le métal, la corde, le verre… Quel est votre matériau de prédilection, celui que l’on pourrait appeler « signature » ?

RB Je suis fasciné par ces créateurs qui passent leur vie sur un millimètre, sur un sujet, sur un seul vocabulaire. Comme pour les couleurs, j’estime qu’il n’y a pas de hiérarchie de matériaux. J’adore autant l’éventail de possibilités du plastique que la préciosité d’une pratique ancestrale comme la laque japonaise. En ce moment, le textile redevient un de nos sujets de prédilection. Pour la Bourse de Commerce, nous travaillons dans le nord de la France avec des machines Jacquard utilisées depuis un siècle. Nous avons découvert tout un monde !

 

Par comparaison au design industriel, comment abordez-vous l’espace public ?

RB Le design est une discipline vivifiée par l’empathie : chaque sujet a une saveur particulière et une problématique singulière.

Je n’ai jamais eu de problème avec l’idée de la reproduction industrielle : au contraire, je revendique cette forme de partage de nos idées avec le plus grand nombre. Nous n’avons jamais voulu nous cantonner aux commandes prestigieuses et aux projets confidentiels.

Accepter les projets dans l’espace public relève de cette volonté.

 

Et pour la rue de Viarmes qui entoure la Bourse de Commerce et son parvis ?

RB Ce cylindre parfait, entre la rue du Louvre et le jardin Nelson Mandela, est un bâtiment très singulier à Paris. Il sera complètement intégré à l’aire piétonne avec la fermeture à la circulation rue de Viarmes. L’un des enjeux principaux était d’identifier la destination culturelle du bâtiment — imaginer un geste, à la fois discret et fort, implanter un signal — puisque rien ne le laisse deviner de l’extérieur. Vous n’aviez jamais travaillé à l’aménagement d’un musée et de son restaurant.

 

Quel défi retenez-vous ?

RB Ce projet est effectivement inédit pour nous. Le défi qui nous a conquis était de parvenir à traiter les espaces d’accueil, de réception et de circulation, comme des espaces domestiques, c’est-à-dire accueillant, chaleureux, à l’échelle humaine. Le visiteur doit y trouver de la douceur, une source d’apaisement.

 

Comment avez-vous travaillé avec Michel Bras ?

RB Michel était un peu inquiet quand on l’a rencontré. C’est un grand timide qui est dans la maîtrise totale de ce qu’il fait… comme nous, en fait ! Très vite, le courant est passé. Il faut dire que, bien que nos métiers soient différents — je n’entrerai pas dans le détail de ses assaisonnements et lui n’entre pas dans notre cuisine — ils se recoupent sur la recherche, l’ambition, l’application, le soin et puis la sophistication des détails.

 

Comment définiriez-vous l’hospitalité ? Comment habite-t-on un musée ?

RB  Ce qui m’a plu d’emblée dans le projet architectural de la Bourse de Commerce c’est la place qu’il laisse à la lumière naturelle et à l’ouverture vers l’extérieur — je suis claustrophobe par ailleurs !EB  L’hospitalité, c’est une courtoisie transparente. C’est exprimer aux visiteurs — de manière imperceptible et paradoxalement manifeste — qu’ils sont les bienvenus, qu’ils sont invités à s’asseoir, à lire, à ralentir, à réfléchir, à s’émouvoir, à contempler : leur donner les conditions d’un moment à eux.

 

Quelle est la première œuvre d’art contemporain qui vous a marquée ?

RB  Ce qui m’a beaucoup influencé, c’est la découverte, dans une librairie à Quimper, d’un livre de photographies sur la fondation de Donald Judd à Marfa. Ça paraît très convenu aujourd’hui, mais à l’époque, ça l’était moins, encore plus à Quimper ! C’était un livre en allemand que je n’ai jamais pu lire — un vrai fantasme,  donc — qui reste toujours ma référence.

EB  Avec Ronan, nous avons eu la chance d’avoir, enfants, un professeur de dessin qui prenait toute occasion pour nous faire voir des œuvres, à l’ancien centre d’art de Quimper ou au domaine de Kerguehennec. Je me souviens surtout des peintures de Jean Hélion mais aussi des œuvres de Tony Grand, Mario Merz, Pier Paolo Calzolari, Janis Kounellis… Aujourd’hui, ma référence absolue c’est Donald Judd, et j’apprécie tout particulièrement les œuvres de Malcolm Morley et celles de Philip Guston.

 

Est-ce que vous collectionnez et quel est votre rapport à la collection ?

RB  Je ne collectionne pas. J’aime regarder certains lieux, objets, paysages, mais je n’aime pas particulièrement posséder, ni être entouré de choses.

Le restaurant de Michel Bras

Le restaurant de Michel Bras
Le restaurant de Michel Bras

 
   Michel et Sébastien Bras © Bras

 

François Pinault a souhaité confier aux chefs Michel et Sébastien Bras les rênes du restaurant qui prendra place au dernier étage de la Bourse de Commerce. De l’Aubrac à Paris, en passant par le Japon, retour sur un parcours singulier, ses valeurs et ses sources d’À l’initial, il y a l’Aubrac.

À l’initial, il y a l’Aubrac. C’est là qu’à six mois Michel Bras ouvre les yeux sur le premier printemps. Tout comme lui, la vie sort de sa léthargie, s’éveille et se révèle pleine. Il s’imprègne de la geste familiale, entre un père forgeron et une mère occupée aux arts ménagers qui, par la force des choses, deviendra cuisinière à plein temps. L’enfant trempe son caractère au feu de la forge, à celui des fourneaux. S’imprègne des dures heures de labeur et du bonheur de réjouir une tablée. Dans son innocence, il touche du doigt à une magie qui sera sienne.

C’est sur ce haut plateau fouetté par le souffle glacé de l’écir que Michel a poussé dans les aubes perlées de rochers. Que sa germination s’est jouée au secret compagnonnage des « sauvages », ces plantes qui ourlent puechs et drailles de l’Aubrac.  L’Alto Braco, un territoire qui de par sa géographie parle déjà d’infini en passant outre les frontières du Cantal, de la Lozère et de l’Aveyron. Chez Bras, on est fait de chair,  de silence, de ciel et de terre.

Il faut imaginer le jeune homme courant dans « le vent mêlé des pâtures », le voir soudainement arrêter sa course pour cueillir la reine-des-prés, l’oseille acetosa, se piquer la langue au picolingo — dont plus tard  il découvrira la petite sœur vietnamienne, le rau-raum, une coriandre très parfumée —,  le voir guetter les stations d’ail des ours, déterrer les chénopodes, s’adonner à ce curieux grain de folie qui en lui toujours survit. Il ne le sait pas encore mais un jour tout cela sera mis en mets. Car, dans sa souveraine alchimie, l’Aubrac l’a choisi. Il sera cuisinier !

Et puisqu’il connaît la richesse des myriades de plantes et de fleurs que compte  ce plateau, c’est auprès d’elles qu’il fera son œuvre. Une œuvre gastronomique et poétique appelée à se fondre dans « cette forteresse naturelle » qui l’envoûte, « ce désert, où le ciel, le minéral, le végétal, tout ramène à l’essentiel ». Il y a vingt-cinq ans, avec Gi son épouse, il s’implante dans un lieu autrefois nommé « Le Délaissé » car aucun éleveur n’en voulait. Parce qu’il le sent plus qu’il ne le sait, il en modifie  la destinée, transfigure le passé.

Il fallait oser donner une vision contemplative de l’Aubrac, pousser l’épure pour être au plus près de la Nature. L’architecture, cette écriture du bâtiment, est perçue comme un prolongement du sentiment. Une bulle de verre se tient en équilibre au bord du pré telle une goutte de rosée. Un filet d’eau court dans la maison Bras comme une veine où s’abreuver, qui rigole à longueur de journée. Le Suquet, cet ancien délaissé, devient un univers à part, intemporel. Le souffle de l’Aubrac porte au loin la nouvelle. On y vient alors de toute part, s’y ressourcer, s’y nourrir et faire le plein de liberté ! C’est là que naît le Gargouillou, un plat si personnel qu’il fera le tour du monde.

Entre-temps, Sébastien a rejoint l’aventure — épaulé de Véronique son épouse qui, tout comme Gi, veille à l’harmonie et la tranquillité des âmes. Père et fils entretiennent une fraternité de cœur, de champs, de rivières et de forêts. Leur jeunesse partagée tient à ce regard d’enfant, en mouvement permanent. Leur respiration, cette intime pulsation, est accordée au rythme des saisons. Ensemble,  ils sont de tous les voyages. Ils se nourrissent au plus profond d’ici et au grand large d’ailleurs. Un jour, un appel du Levant résonne sur les hauteurs de Laguiole. On vient chercher les Bras pour qu’ils sèment leur graine de bonheur sur l’île d’Okkaido. Tout comme à Lagardelle, où s’épanouissent l’oseille argentée, la balsamite odorante, le cosmos sulfureux, la valériane phu ou le fenouil bronze… — glanés aux quatre coins du monde —, ils y auront leur jardin, recréeront tout un écosystème. Pétris d’Aubrac, Michel et Sébastien Bras sont comme lui sans frontière. Tandis que l’un se reconnaît des affinités avec les Peuls, « ces gens du lait », l’autre fabrique son propre miso avec des lentilles de la Planèze… Chez eux, rien qui enferme, jamais !

Le principe de vitalité poursuit son œuvre et bientôt c’est à Rodez qu’ils sont appelés, au côté du peintre Soulages. Dans l’antre du musée, ils créent le café Bras. Tout comme pour l’outrenoir, l’architecture du bâtiment leur va comme un gant. Il y a la sobriété et la pureté des lignes, l’acier vibrant sous les assauts du temps. Michel y retrouve un peu cette matière vivante que travaillait son père. Langage universel tissant sa propre toile, les arts se rejoignent. La cuisine comme le tableau — ou comme la photographie qu’il affectionne — est une métaphore. En rien coupée du monde mais cernée par lui, elle lui doit son sens, diraient-ils d’une même voix. Se réinventer sans cesse, s’inspirer et toujours se recentrer. Ne se soucier d’aucune mode, être ce que l’on est. Telle est, je le crois, leur simple vérité !

 

Corinne Pradier, écrivaine